“…just one that’s mine.” ~ Jack McCarthy

“………
9. Ideas for new poems of my own.
I don’t have to write the first poem
on a given subject, or the best,
just one that’s mine….”

Jack McCarthy, from “The Top Ten Reasons I Take Notes at Poetrynight”

Jack McCarthy is a legendary poet and award-winning slam poet and longtime participant in the poetrynight open mic series in Bellingham, Washington. Read his blog here.

Jack McCarthy is an exceptionally talented poet, and a thoughtful and humorous man. He begins “The Top Ten Reasons I Take Notes at Poetrynight” with “11.”

“The Top Ten Reasons…” appears in as much as we’ve put in, a poetrynight anthology (2012). I am honored to report that I assisted the anthology’s editors Robert Huston and Melissa A. Queen with two proofreads of the manuscript.

If I may say so, as much as we’ve put in is a beautiful book, and features fine work by poets Jack McCarthy, Anna Wolff, Ryler Dustin, Malcolm H. Kenyon, James Bertolino, Buddy Wakefield, Rachel Mehl, Caleb Barber, and many, many others.

ISBN: 978-1-4507-5596-2

Contact poetrynight for your copy of the anthology.

All the best, Andy

About Andrew Shattuck McBride

I am a writer, editor, writing coach, and consultant. I work in a variety of genres, including poetry, short stories, and creative non-fiction. I also have a couple of novels simmering on back burners. THANK YOU to Nan Macy of Village Books for taking this photo (June 2011).
This entry was posted in Information for Writers, Proofreading, Wisdom and Advice for Writers (Quotations) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “…just one that’s mine.” ~ Jack McCarthy

  1. STILL wondering how I didn’t know about this blog of yours, but glad I got here finally!

    Apparently I’m follower # 1,692. Wow, that’s a lot of subscribers!

    • Hi Jennifer, thank you so much for finding my Editor’s Blog!
      Well, I haven’t been advertising it at all, and I’ve only written 40-some posts.
      1,692 followers? LOL That must be an error!
      Blessings to you and yours, Andy
      P.S. How’s YOUR writing coming along?

Leave a comment